Skip to content

Closed Windows, Open Doors.

July 27, 2008

Lots of my plans with friends have fallen through lately. 😩

Despite this, I’ve had an adventure-filled few days…

Summer camp has been going crazy fast – tomorrow will begin our final week. Thursday was our camp’s Family Fun Night, essentially a carnival for campers and their families to come hang out at. I helped one of my bosses plan the event, which I think went over fantastically. The only downside to the event? One of my campers fell off the monkey bars and broke her arm pretty badly.

On Friday I supervised the Movie Under the Stars for the PD. It was fun to see the movie actually take place (the week before I’d had to cancel it!), and to see everyone who turned out. Our next door neighbor, her son, and his son. My other neighbor’s grandkids. A camper who NEVER speaks that actually said, “Hi!” to me. One of my campers and his mom, who is super chatty and one of my faves. It was kind of a neat power trip for me – I was responsible for making sure no one was smoking or drinking. I had to ask one man to go smoke out on the Village’s sidewalk (the PD doesn’t allow smoking anywhere in its parks) and had to ask another family to put out their citronella candle! Doing events like this hammer home that I’m interested in recreation…it’s so neat for people to have something like this to come out to!

Other than that…I’ve done a lot of reading, a little gardening (replanted my sad-looking tomato plant), and some movie watching (Half Nelson and Across the Universe, both wonderful, yet utterly confusing). AND, I’ve nearly finished the Dvd for camp! Woot!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 17, 2008 7:05 am

    Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

