Skip to content

Olympics Obsessed

August 11, 2008

I don’t know what it is – when I was little I never had the chance to try out many of these sports – but I’ve become absolutely obsessed with the Olympics. I’ve been watching a lot of sand volleyball, swimming (of course), and men’s gymnastics.

Partially, it’s a huge desire to root for the underdog (see: Jason Lezak and the killer 4×100 Freestyle Relay). But, mostly, it gives me an ability to believe – that the Americans can achieve something great. I get nervous just watching, I cannot imagine competing with the hopes of a country on your shoulders. To have the faith to achieve, and the dedication it takes to train enough…I admire them so much.

And then, of course, I secretly dream of making kills into the sand, of flying through the water, of owning vault just like Kerri Strug in 1996.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

