Skip to content

Looking Back…

January 4, 2009

I was sent one of those surveys a few years ago, back when email forwards were awesome (wait, what’s that? those were never cool?). Looking back over old ones I’ve done, I realized how much, in some ways, I have changed, and how in some ways I haven’t. And then, the obvious thoughts about my past year, and the upcoming one. If you’re interested, they’re after the break…

2008 brought me continued adventures – I became an RA at Bradley, traveled to Oregon, and took up ice skating lessons, rode in a 25-mile midnight bike ride.  I added new friends, and unfortunately began to lose touch with a few old – and friendships continued to bring me joy – of finding new confidants and new adventures (the aforementioned skating, Mario Party, bonding, goofy dressing up, Dance Marathon, job searches, floor programs, and on…). Didn’t bring too much pain, which was good.  I realized that I’ve been friends with Alli for 14 years ❤

I tried to find a path in life – I applied to multiple internships spring semester, and got none.  I worked, for what will likely be my final summer, at the Park District, and worked back at Willow Grove.  As always, our campers were wonderful, and there were few stand-outs – “losing” a camper, lots of vomit, unpredictable weather  – that made it a challenging, but very rewarding summer.  This fall I returned to Bradley as an RA, and gained an internship at one of the very places I applied in the spring – Lakeview Museum of Arts and Sciences.  I’m Education Intern, and my experience has opened me to a career in a museum setting.

My job search is, as of yet, very slow.  I’ve only applied a handful of places (a couple cruise lines – which my mom hates, and I am hopefully applying to the US Golf Association for their Fellowship in Leadership and Service.   So possible fields I may look/go into? Recreation, travel/tourism, hospitality, non-for-profit, museums. We’ll see what pans out. All in all, despite the “horrible” economy, I’m optimistic.

In the upcoming year, my big goals are athletic/outdoor related. Martha and I will walk around Geneva Lake. And I want to complete a triathlon. And run the Race to Wrigley.  Obviously find a job…Charge bravely into a new era in my life.  I also have a number of things on my Bradley Bucket List, if you will, things I want to do before my college days are over…

The song lyrics I loved to hear this year:

Open up your plans and damn you’re free
Look into your heart and you’ll find love love love love
Listen to the music of the moment people dance and sing
We’re just one big family
And It’s our God-forsaken right to be loved love loved love loved

So I won’t hesitate no more, no more
It cannot wait I’m sure
There’s no need to complicate
Our time is short
This is our fate, I’m yours

Jason Mraz – “I’m Yours”

On top of these, my New Year’s Resolutions:

  1. Walk/Hike weekly with Martha, in preparation for Geneva Lake.
  2. Look people in the eye. And smile.
  3. Do what I want to do, regardless of what others are doing, and not put off what I want to do.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

