Skip to content

More pancakes, and other fun adventures

January 9, 2010
tags:

Best part of yesterday? Friends made me pancakes. From. A. Spray. Can. Essentially, I had spray cheese pancakes. But seriously, this product exists, and I so wish I had been genius enough to come up with it myself. (This is what we used: http://www.batterblaster.com/)

Best part of today? Learning that ferrets, when held by the skin of their necks, yawn! And that the underside of hedgehogs are soft (I always knew Sonic was a softy on the inside!). Love visiting the pet store!

ETA: Also…that Hawaiian cookbook I mentioned? So far worth the $0.50 I paid for it! (And in a good sense!) I’ve only made one recipe from it so far – Bread Pudding – but it got rave reviews from the fam. Despite calls for some sort of sauce to top it. According to my grandma, my great-grandma used to make awesome vanilla sauce, so I shall be hunting for something like that!

From Drop Box

Bread Pudding – from The Westin Mauna Kea Beach Hotel Employees’ Cookbook, Roberta Kaitoku

1 loaf bread

1-1/2 cups sugar

3 cups water

3 cups evaporated milk (full fat, none of that 2% or skim junk)

1 stick margarine, softened

6 eggs

4 tsp. vanilla (I use vanilla from the DR, which is fabulous, and comes in a large bottle, so I don’t find using tons for this)

Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs and mix. Stir in vanilla. Add water and milk and stir. (Butter mixture will be chunky.) Shred bread and add to liquid. Stir until all bread is soaked. Pour carefully into 9 x 13 x 2 inch pan (Roberta didn’t say to, but I sprayed it with non-stick spray). Bake at 350º for 1 hour. Cool and serve. Makes a LOT – I halved the recipe, which was good for three generous portions.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

