Skip to content

Strawberry Lemonade Bars

May 18, 2011
tags:

Yesterday I got home and super wanted to bake. There are lots of untested recipes I have bookmarked, but the one that stood out to me was Pink Lemonade Crumb Bars.

There were lots of things wrong with the recipe and me. First, my grocery store sells slivered almonds, at a ridiculously expensive price. I am cheap. Second, I don’t  have a clue what blanched means. Third, I don’t own a food processor. I attempted to substitute a blender, which in this instance didn’t really work. Ended up mixing everything by hand. Otherwise everything went swimmingly. (So to recap, changes I made: no almonds, by hand, strawberry preserves, and I still don’t know food terms.)

The finished product was…not pink at all. Perhaps it was the fact that I used strawberry preserves instead of the specified raspberry jam? It tasted a lot sweeter than how I think of lemon squares, too, which was a nice surprise. Some of my friends acted as guinea pigs, and gave me an surprise early birthday cake!

Happy almost birthday to meeeeeee!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

