Skip to content

You Better Not…

May 25, 2011

This morning I watched the final episode of the “Oprah Winfrey Show.” I’ve had a love-hate relationship with the show – I always enjoy the “And you get a car! And you get a car!” more than the downer topics – but her last episode seemed to be speaking directly to the issues I’ve been dealing with in my life.

It may be part of a John Mayer song, but I think it’s a little ridiculous, the idea of a quarter-life crisis. But lately I’ve been struggling with what I’m meant to do with my life. While I very much enjoy my current job and feel fulfilled by many parts of it, I often find myself near obsessed with topics that interest me. Ideas for my life that just won’t seem to go away.

One thing Oprah said was, “Your life is speaking to you. What is it saying?” She said that God, that life will whisper things to you. And if you don’t listen, it will flick you in the head. And if you don’t listen to that, it will hit you in the head with a brick. And then, a brick wall. I think maybe, perhaps, that Oprah is my brick wall.

My current obsession (among numerous) has been the Appalachian Trail. I read Bill Bryson’s book, A Walk In The Woods. Now I’m reading blogs and anything else I can get my hands on regarding the AT. When I mention this to my mother, she says, “You better not do that by yourself.” I am thisclose to considering at least a section hike or something. It is possible that this is my sign. I suppose time will tell!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

