Skip to content

Welcome to Summer!

June 13, 2012

As an only child, I was pretty easy to entertain. It’s a self-reliance thing you acquire, what with not having people around to play with. I’d make forts out of blankets, cross country road trips out of couch cushions, and my oft-naked Barbies went on some crazy adventures. But the easiest thing to entertain me with? Boxes, hands down.

Boxes were awesome. Score a giant refrigerator box? Mansion. Xerox box? Mansion for my Beanie Babies. They stoked my imagination, and even today remind me of all that is childhood and all that is good. Which is why I’m terribly excited that our first CSA box is here!

Roommate and I have been eagerly anticipating the box for weeks, and this morning’s pick up is by far the second most exciting thing this week. (First most exciting thing? Deb Perelman of Smitten Kitchen is [maybe] touring for book signings! R told me, and I had a GIANT fan-girl freak out driving home from work yesterday!) Our new pick-up site is over in Ravenswood Manor, and is just about the cutest place ever. They have all kinds of vintage stuff in their yard and garage, have flowers instead of grass, and kind of look like they have chickens!?!

Anyway, we’re ridiculously excited about it all, so much that we’ve already planned out what we’ll be making with this week’s share. (Except the turnips. Any suggestions?) On the menu is pesto and turkey sandwiches, strawberry spinach salad – and salad for EVERY meal. SO many greens!, egg salad with arugula, zucchini and goat cheese pizza, and Deb’s new broccoli fritters.

First up? strawberry spinach salad for lunch!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2012 11:31 am

    So so fresh-the best kind of way to cook!

  2. June 14, 2012 2:14 am

    that salad looks amazing!

    I host a weekly CSA link party and would love for you to be a part of it. Come and check it out and link up this post…http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/14/whats-in-the-box-30/. Hope to see you there 🙂

    • craftylime permalink*
      June 17, 2012 6:02 pm

      I love that idea! I’m always looking for new recipes and things to do with my veggies. I added this week’s, and I’ll definitely update you next week!

      • June 17, 2012 10:01 pm

        Thank you for participating! I know you will find some great ideas…I always do 🙂

  3. June 14, 2012 11:35 pm

    I also like to throw greens into smoothies. It’s a good way to use them up and so healthy.

    • craftylime permalink*
      June 17, 2012 5:58 pm

      I get sick of eating salads, so that sounds delicious! What kind of fruit do you use?

Leave a Reply

