Skip to content

The Case for NO Presents

June 17, 2012

I don’t like to give presents. There. I said it. Before you start to think I’m some big Scrooge or Grinch, hear me out. I don’t like to give tangible presents. I value experiences way more than tangible stuff, so I would rather make wonderful memories with whomever the special day belongs to than give them something they might not like.

(If you know me, I’m pretty into being green, so the idea of giving someone cheaply-made junk that will soon end up in a landfill kind of sits poorly with me. Soapbox over.)

So for birthdays and parent’s Days, Valentine’s Day and Christmas, I tend to give things like pedicures and massages, dinners, and Broadway in Chicago tickets. Yes, I was totally the kid who made IOUs and little tickets as presents. I do waver a little with consumables – on May Day (yep! celebrated at my house!) I often give my mom flowers to plant – and I think things like that are awesome too.

So today, for Father’s Day, my dad got no gifts. Instead, I invited him to two places I know he’ll love: Finch’s brewery tour and Sagawau Canyon. (Actually, he’s getting craft beer, too!)

Happy Father’s Day to my dad, and all the dads out there! Here’s to some wonderful adventures together!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

