Skip to content

Give Me Just One Night…(Our Ninety point Eight Degree Apartment)

June 28, 2012

Our apartment feels like the surface of the sun. As I walk up the stairs to get here, I get *almost* to the fourth floor landing, and run into a wall of heat that only intensifies as I unlock our front door.

Such is living in a fourth floor walkup with no air conditioning. In June. During the hottest summer Chicago has seen since 1995. When the temperature spiked to 100º today, I knew our apartment would be bad, but ugh.

My kitchen thermometer reads 90.8º, and it is because of this heat that I am in no mood to cook. We got our second CSA box yesterday, filled with all kinds of fun things (Kohlrabi is the weirdest looking vegetable ever). I’m excited, like always, but the only things I’ve done is eat stuff we made last week or make recipes that don’t involve actual cooking. We have lots planned for these things, so hopefully this crazy weather cools down and we can enjoy it!

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2012 11:06 pm

    My house is the surface of the sun. I get it!

  2. June 28, 2012 11:17 pm

    Thanks for linking up! Never thought about putting arugula on an egg salad sandwich…must try 🙂 Arugula is one of my favorite greens!

    • craftylime permalink*
      June 29, 2012 6:57 am

      I love it on egg salad, because it cuts the peppery-ness a bit. I’m totally a wimp when it comes to arugula!

  3. June 29, 2012 9:26 am

    sorry about the heat, that can be rough! kohlrabi is funny lookin but delicious! 😉 try sauteing the greens, too! and are those ramps i see?! good stuff — put that on a grilled cheese like i did — http://foodandfoto.com/2012/04/25/grilled-tomato-and-cheese-w-baby-leeks/

Leave a Reply

