Skip to content

Week 7 (Or How I Really Promise to Post More Regularly)

August 1, 2012

I’m such a slacker. Well…not really. In the time since I last wrote, I shopped for housewarming and birthday presents (beergaritas and framed copies of the Holstee Manifesto), rode my bike in LATE Ride, learned to ride using clipless pedals, hosted an Olympic Opening Ceremony party, and competed as a relay in an olympic triathlon. Woof. But in the mean time I missed two weeks of vegetables.

For those of you keeping track at home, last week was week 7, or our fourth delivery. Roommate and I are getting boxes every other week this summer, because we’re just not home enough (or feeding enough mouths) to justify a whole share. But it means I savor everything so much more, and we still often end up swamped in veggies. This week’s awesome haul included two melons, more cukes, and our first tomatoes and sweet corn!!

The most fun foodie things from this missing month include Olympic Funfetti cupcakes, cheddar and sourdough stuffed tomatoes, and the ridiculous amount of fast food I let myself eat on my triathlon road trip! (I can’t figure out how to include my Instagram photos, of which I took many, but I’m Limey519.)

Cheddar Sourdough Stuffed Tomatoes

(Adapted from Betty Crocker’s Cookbook, 1986)

3 medium tomatoes

1/8 cup bell pepper, diced (I used orange, which was taking up valuable freezer space!)

1/4 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese

1/4 cup sourdough croutons (I used remnants of a sourdough baguette from the Olympic party)

Preheat oven to 350ยบ. Remove stem ends from the tomatoes; cut thin slice from bottom of each tomato if roundness might make it tip over during cooking. Remove pulp from each tomato, leaving 1/2 inch wall. Set pulp aside.

Mix tomato pulp, bell pepper, cheese, and croutons. Fill tomatoes with tomato-cheese mixture. Place filled tomatoes on pie pan. Cook uncovered at 350ยบ for about 20 minutes. Garnish with BACON (one of my most favorite words)!

These were yummy tonight, and they’ll be great leftovers tomorrow too!! Anyone else doing anything else Olympic-themed and fun?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2012 10:32 pm

    Love the idea of an Olympic Opening Ceremony party.

    • craftylime permalink*
      August 1, 2012 10:35 pm

      This is the second ceremony we’ve done this for. Everyone dresses up as athletes and brings food from different countries. Someone decided Taco Bell party packs county for Mexico? But it’s a blast!

  2. August 2, 2012 2:48 am

    Those tomatoes looks out of this world! I will be wishing for tomatoes big enough to stuff with that cheesy goodness ๐Ÿ™‚

    Come and link up to this week’s CSA Link party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/08/02/whats-in-the-box-37/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

  3. August 2, 2012 11:19 pm

    YUM!

  4. August 3, 2012 9:29 am

    You are so a talented baker! This is so amazing! =)

Leave a Reply

