Skip to content

Killer Butterflies?

August 22, 2012

I am 25 years old. There is no sane reason that I should be afraid of butterflies, and yet, here we are.

I went to the Butterflies and Blooms exhibit at the Chicago Botanic Garden with my mom today, and it was gorgeous. Butterflies in all kinds of crazy colors – my favorites were blue. I caught one mid-flight in the picture of my mom’s hat! – and they were beautiful. Except they were terrifying.

Little, little kids and tons of adults were all around me, calm as can be. And there I was jumping every time a butterfly ran into me! Despite my being a super big wimp, the exhibit was awesome, and the staff there was incredibly knowledgeable. There was even a display of hatching butterflies! The exhibit is in its last weeks, but if you have the opportunity, you should definitely go.

Butterflies & Blooms runs through September 3 (10a to 5p daily, weather permitting.) at the Chicago Botanic Garden, 1000 Lake Cook Road, Glencoe, IL 60022. Tickets for purchase at exhibit entrance, but Garden members are free on Wednesdays!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

